Kevin Ware has successful surgery, says he’s doing fine.

4-1-13-Kevin-Ware-jersey_full_600

The Louisville guard, who broke his tibia in horrific fashion during the Cardinals’ Elite Eight game Sunday against Duke, is hoping to be discharged from an Indianapolis hospital Tuesday afternoon and return to his teammates at school.

“Hopefully I’ll be back in time to watch practice,” Ware told ESPN.com by phone Monday. “It hurts but I’ll be fine. I’ll be fine.”

Ware, who had a steel rod inserted in his leg during a two-hour surgery late Sunday night, said that when the injury initially happened, he thought it wasn’t serious. Then he saw the reaction of his coach, Rick Pitino, and knew something was wrong.

“I jumped and my leg felt kind of funny,” he said. “When Coach P tried to help me up, he gave me a funny kind of look. I’m looking at him and then I look down and I see my bone sticking out. It wasn’t a hurt feeling. I just went into shock. In the moment, you don’t know what’s wrong with you. You’re just looking, thinking, ‘How did this happen?’ I never watched the replay. I never want to.”

Kevin Ware went through a successful surgery after breaking his right leg in two places, also the broken bone was exposed. Horrible incident but he’s doing a lot better now and celebrating after his team won the regional championship over Duke last night in a blow out in the second half. Kevin also won’t be able to functionally walk for 5-6 months. I hope he has a speedy recovery! Above this paragraph was an excerpt from an ESPN Article, “Kevin Ware to all: I’ll Be Fine,” credits to them for the article.

Leave a Reply

